Skip to content

Just a lil’ piece …

August 4, 2009

I could give you all you ever wanted,

I could give you all my heart.

Only if it was left in me,

Only if it wasn’t torn apart.

I could be the one for you,

I could love you like you love me.

Only if my soul was intact,

Only if it wasn’t bruised badly.

I could look forward to a life with you,

I could picture you and me.

Only if I wasn’t hopeful,

Only if I didn’t want it to come back to me.

Now all I can ask you,

Is if you’d agree,

If you could make do,

With just a lil’ piece of my heart…

© Neha Kapoor
“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.” ~ Oscar Wilde.
Help the cause against blog plagiarism. Please do not copy.

37 Comments leave one →
  1. aroraparas permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:38 pm

    the start reminded me of a Sheryl Crow song: http://www.lyrics007.com/Sheryl%20Crow%20Lyrics/The%20First%20Cut%20Is%20The%20Deepest%20Lyrics.html

    nice one.

    • August 4, 2009 7:48 pm

      Wow that song’s theme is so similar!! I had never heard it. Thanks for this pappe. now i’m thinking my poem could b made into a song too! :D *hopeful*

  2. August 4, 2009 7:51 pm

    Superb..it just got better…

    Gather all the pieces
    and it will be the same again
    with all love and care
    your darling will ease the pain

    lovely writing neha

  3. August 4, 2009 7:55 pm

    Nice…Hope it’s just a poem and not your experience.

  4. August 4, 2009 8:33 pm

    best lines were


    Now all I can ask you,

    Is if you’d agree,

    If you could make do,

    With just a lil’ piece of my heart…

    We all want everything…and every bit of it… I wonder how many will agree to “make do with jus a lil’ ”

    Nicely written and well versed..

  5. August 4, 2009 9:07 pm

    Only if I wasn’t hopeful,

    Only if I didn’t want it to come back to me.

    Now all I can ask you,

    Is if you’d agree,

    If you could make do,

    With just a lil’ piece of my heart…

    Lovely!!

  6. August 4, 2009 10:42 pm

    The most talked about human organ in poems should be the heart, na ? :D

    • August 4, 2009 10:43 pm

      Oh Btw, I am bad at analysing poems. It should be good :D :D

    • August 4, 2009 10:45 pm

      You want me to write about other organs? What organs? Are you a dirty mind?
      *lemme know so I can go ahead and tch tch you* :P

      • August 4, 2009 10:51 pm

        Oh no, what I meant was that, normally poets write either about the eyes or the heart and I guess its heart that always lead.

        How I wish there are poems on teeth, or tonsils, or fingers, or you know, you know, something different ? :D :D :D

        • August 4, 2009 10:54 pm

          I remember one such poem:

          Chubby cheeks,
          dimple chin,
          rosy lips,
          teeth within,
          Curly hair,
          very fair,
          eyes are blue,
          lovely too

          (OMG how racist is that poem!!!!)

  7. LVISS permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:39 am

    WRITING POEMS HAS NEVER GOT ON TO ME WELL . I HAVE ACUTE PROBLEMS WITH RHYMING. U LOOK COMFORTABLE WITH THIS TALENT.
    MY COUSIN ,A DOCTOR, WROTE A POEM ABOUT DOCTORS EXAMINING A CANCER PATIENT

  8. shraddha permalink
    August 5, 2009 3:36 am

    very very nice…

    love it..

  9. August 5, 2009 4:27 am

    Nice one :)

  10. August 5, 2009 4:28 am

    And what you think could be an answer of the little piece of heart?

    • August 5, 2009 9:44 am

      Well, sometimes a little piece can be enough too. Even if its not, thats all you could give.

  11. August 5, 2009 5:39 am

    Beautiful! That little piece of heart is like Mount Everest x 10, knowing you.

    One more thing, the soul cannot be tarnished. It is a manifestation of God in man. And since you are a blessed soul, this is just not possible.

    Regards
    Abhishek

  12. August 5, 2009 5:50 am

    Wow, it would be so painful to hear these words… I mean,

    I could be the one for you,

    I could love you like you love me.

    To think that after all the love that you give, all you get is a lil piece…

  13. Ramya Roopini permalink
    August 5, 2009 7:48 am

    First time here.. Beautiful lines :)
    I have added you in my blog roll

  14. August 5, 2009 9:48 am

    Hi Neha,

    nice Poem… you are really a Genius Artist..

  15. August 5, 2009 11:03 am

    very nice…………
    linked to you will be pleased if i get a link back from you…….

  16. craftyshines permalink
    August 7, 2009 6:23 pm

    gee neha

    lil piece will be whole again,
    happiness will soon replace pain,
    all we learn and endure within,
    is what makes us who we become at the end,
    and just when u think u’re used to a lil piece of heart,
    u get gifted a whole one, with love that is limitless…

    and until that time, when u feel t he joy, u know u got friends to hold the fort…

    maybe cannot ease ur pain…
    but we’ll be here to make sure u r never alone in this!

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{super tight hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

    sorry am late to see this, was drowned in work
    :(

    love u neha!

  17. August 13, 2009 8:57 pm

    i loouve this one! totally and the ending…beautiful

  18. shruti permalink
    September 21, 2009 9:30 am

    geezzz…..i never knew u were so gud wid wordz…well u blended d emotions as well as the words perfectly…nevertheless 2 say widout a “cliche”…gud luck..[:)]

  19. January 5, 2012 1:24 pm

    Nice post !


    His love will fill
    the voids you find;
    seal it forever then
    with your honest smiles :)

Trackbacks

  1. My Nominations for Avant Garde Awards | Ginger & Cardamom

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,193 other followers

